Research Guides: History of the U.S. Military: Newspapers

Newspapers

Newspapers are an extraordinary primary source. Find early newspapers in Proquest Historical Newspapers. History majors will find most useful the Chicago Tribune and the New York Times, both dating back to around 1850.

Contemporary newspapers, local and ethnic, can be found in ProQuest Newsstand and Ethnic Newswatch.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Indexes North American ethnic and minority journals, newspapers and magazines from 1960 to the present; includes full text.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

Search for historical articles in the Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal.

Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I, 1918 to 1919
This online collection from the Library of Congress includes the complete seventy-one-week run of The Stars and Stripes World War I edition. The Stars and Stripes was published in France by the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) of the United States Army from February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919.
Newspaper Pictorials: World War I Rotogravures, 1914 to 1919
This online collection from the Library of Congress is drawn from three primary sources: The War of the Nations: Portfolio in Rotogravure Etchings, a volume published by the New York Times shortly after the armistice that compiled selected images from their "Mid-Week Pictorial" supplements of 1914-19; Sunday rotogravure sections from the New York Times for 1914-19; and Sunday rotogravure sections from the New York Tribune for 1916-19.

Newspaper Source Plus

Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 600 U.S. and international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for over 400 regional U.S. newspapers. Full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided.