We Hold These Truths: A Civic History of the United States - HIST 25000

The Federal Register publishes Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents. Access is provided back to 1994.

The CFR is a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register.

"Eldis aims to share the best in development, policy, practice and research. Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents."

Representatives of independent citizen organizations are increasingly active in policy making at the United Nations. These organizations - known at the UN as "non-governmental organizations" or "NGOs" - are often the most effective voices for the concerns of ordinary people in the international arena. NGOs include the most outspoken advocates of human rights, the environment, social programs, women's rights and more. This page links to information and analysis about NGOs at the UN and in global policy-making more broadly

InterAction is an alliance organization in Washington, D.C. of nongovernmental organizations (NGOs). Our 180-plus members work around the world. Includes searchable library of press releases from the approximately 165 member NGOs.

"The GDRC Programme on Non-Governmental Organizations is designed as an "NGO Cafe", as a meeting place for NGOs around the world. In six distinct sections, the site defines the concept of NGOs and related organizations, provides tools and resources to implement effective programs, presents papers and documents of international interest, and gives news and internet links."

The Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO Committee) was established by ECOSOC resolution E/RES/3(II) of 21 June 1946. The terms of reference have been reviewed several times, the current terms of reference are included in ECOSOC resolution 1996/31 (on page 53 of E/1996/96) of 25 July 1996.

This guide from the University of Michigan Library features many suggestions for NGO resources.

Non-governmental organizations (NGOs) are critical change agents in promoting economic growth, human rights and social progress. USAID partners with NGOs to deliver assistance across all regions and sectors in which we work and to promote inclusive economic growth, strengthen health and education at the community level, support civil society in democratic reforms and assist countries recovering from disasters.

Directory of NGOs around the world.