Exercise Science

Create an Account

1.  Click on "Create Account" beneath the "Use login from your institution" button.  Note:  DO NOT use the "Use login from your institution" button to create an account.

2.  Enter your university email and follow the directions.

Import citations from Primo or other databases to create your RefWorks database:

1. Select save or export (depending on the database) and then select RefWorks.  In Primo, select the "RefWorks" button in the "Send To" area.

2. If you are not logged in, you will be requested to log in.  The import will begin automatically.

Create a Bibliography:

1.  Select the desired items or click on the desired folder.

2.  Click on the quotation mark symbol.

3.  Select your output style and save.

OR

1.  Click on "Create Bibliography."

2.  Select your output style.  All of the citations you have imported will be sorted and organized according to the style you've chosen.

Additional Tools:

Sharing – Click on Share a Folder.  Select the folder, access, email addresses, and permission.  Click Done.

Folders – Click to create new folders.  Drag items into desired folders.

Tags – Add tags for organization.

Write-N-Cite – Select the vertical three dots next to the Search tool magnifying glass.  Select tools and download the plugin.  With this feature, you can create in-text citations and footnotes.

Below are just some of the improvements you will experience with the new version of RefWorks to date:

Find and Capture:

• RefWorks has the ability to recognize and import files from over 800 different databases and file formats
• Save-to-RefWorks bookmarklet allows capture of references from web pages from thousands of web properties
• Auto completion and verification of manual added references

Manage and Access:

• Easily search full text in documents, folders and subfolders through powerful search capabilities
• Retrieve references based on tags with the intuitive tag manager
• Unlimited storage for references and full text

Share & Collaborate:

• Read, annotate and highlight full-text documents in a collaborative environment
• Work with PDFs, Office and Open Office documents
• Share folders or references privately or with members of your institution

Export & Cite:

• Supports over 4,000 different citation styles with a powerful citation style editor for customization
• Add on and PlugIns: new RefWorks offers add-ins for both Google Docs and for Microsoft Word. Both allow insertion and formatting of citations, footnotes and bibliographies
• For Linux and/or Open Office users, the new RefWorks also include the Quick Cite tool which lets users create bibliographies and citations within RefWorks for easy copy/paste into word processing documents

Internationalization: The new RefWorks supports the same languages as the legacy version; French, Italian, German, Spanish, Korean, Japanese, traditional and simplified Chinese.