Research Guides: S.U.R.E. Resources: Biology

Recommended Databases

Quarterly Review of Biology This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scientific journal covering all aspects of biology.
ISSN 0033-5770
Full text from 1/2002 to present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects, plus videos from the Associated Press.
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Access to 2,500 active full-text journals in the biomedical sciences.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly and popular articles, government documents and reports on the ways humans affect the environment.

Open Journals

American Society for Microbiology Journals
Biology Open
Bioresearch Open Access
Cell Reports
Cogent Biology
Current Plant Biology
Journal of Insect Science The Entomological Society of America was very pleased to add the Journal of Insect Science to its publishing portfolio in 2014. The fully open access journal publishes papers in all aspects of the biology of insects and other arthropods from the molecular to the ecological, and their agricultural and medical impact. The journals published by ESA primarily contain research articles, all of which are peer reviewed before being accepted for publication. In addition to scientific research articles, the journals publish letters to the editor, interpretive or evaluative articles that appear in a Forum section, and book reviews (all book reviews appear in American Entomologist). Manuscripts that describe entomological techniques and computer software programs generally are not considered for publication in the journals.
PeerJ PeerJ is an Open Access, peer-reviewed, scholarly journal. It considers and publishes Research Articles in the Biological and Medical Sciences. It aims for rapid decision making and will publish articles as soon as they are ready. Taking its inspiration from PLoS ONE, PeerJ selects articles based only on a determination of scientific and methodological soundness, not on subjective determinations of 'impact,' 'novelty' or 'interest.' It applies the highest standards to everything it does - specifically, the publication places an emphasis on research integrity; high ethical standards; constructive peer-review; exemplary production quality; and leading edge online functionality.
PLoS Journals
Quanta Magazine The Simons Foundation’s mission is to advance the frontiers of research in mathematics and the basic sciences. Co-founded in New York City by Jim and Marilyn Simons, the foundation celebrated its 20th anniversary in 2014. The Simons Foundation at its core exists to support basic — or discovery-driven — scientific research, undertaken in pursuit of understanding the phenomena of our world.

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed open access journals in the sciences from Mexico, Central and South America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa.

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Biofundamentals
Biology - Open Textbooks
Biology - OpenStax
BioRxiv
The preprint server for Biology.
Cancer Data Access System The Cancer Data Access System (CDAS) is a website for requesting data recorded from the NLST The National Lung Screening Trial and PLCO The Prostate, Lung, Colorectal, and Ovarian (PLCO) Cancer Screening Trial cancer studies. For some studies, images or biospecimens are also available.
Cell and Molecular Biology: What We Know & How We Found Out
Cell Biology for Health Occupations
Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)
Directory of Open Access Books: Biology
Encyclopedia of Life
Essentials of Nutrition: A Functional Approach
Espacenet
A free database to search over 140 million patent documents.
iBiology
iBiology houses a collection of high-quality video lectures by scientists explaining cutting-edge research, the history of great discoveries, scientific career paths, and related topics. Complete courses are also available on subjects such as experimental design, microscopy, and image analysis, as are a number of whiteboard animations explaining specific scientific topics. iBiology also has resources for flipped courses and tips for moving courses online.
Introduction to Molecular and Cellular Biology
Microbiology: A Laboratory Experience
National Academies Press - Biology & Life Sciences The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy.
Quanta Magazine The Simons Foundation’s mission is to advance the frontiers of research in mathematics and the basic sciences. Co-founded in New York City by Jim and Marilyn Simons, the foundation celebrated its 20th anniversary in 2014. The Simons Foundation at its core exists to support basic — or discovery-driven — scientific research, undertaken in pursuit of understanding the phenomena of our world.
Rediscovering Biology
US Government Open Data Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more
Introduction to OER for Biology
Welcome to the ASCCC OERI Resource Page for Biology. This space is intended to provide faculty in the discipline with a collection of resources that have been subject to a peer-review process and/or that have been selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges.