Research Guides: Art Appreciation: Articles

Access to Library Databases

To access Lewis University Library databases, enter your Lewis University username and password.

This is the same login information you use for Blackboard and the MyCampus portal.

Writing about Art
Free guide from the writing center at Hunter College.
Guide to Visual Analysis
Free guide to writing about a work of art from the writing program at Duke University.

A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Sylvan Barnet
ISBN: 0673524876
Publication Date: 1997
Complete guide to writing about art, available for checkout in the Library.

Start your research with Credo Reference and get background information on a wide variety of art appreciation topics. Here are a few examples.

Need to find in-depth articles about art appreciation topics? Try searching these databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects, plus videos from the Associated Press.
Credo Reference: Academic Core Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text online versions of over 900 published reference works in a variety of major subjects. These include general and subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, images, and videos. 
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full text for more than 1,200 journals in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window Access to full text from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, providing research support in core undergraduate subjects.

Looking for a different database? Find more on the Library's database A-Z list:

Browse issues of key journals for art and design.