Research Guides: LGBTQ Resources: Library Resources

Finding Resources

On this page you'll find some of the resources available on LGBTQ topics at the Lewis University Library. If you are unable to find what you need, or would like more direction, a research librarian is always available to help you by drop-in or appointment. You can also chat, email, call, or text.

Journals

Books/ebooks

Here are just some of the books we have at the library-talk to a research librarian or browse the catalog to find more!

An Archive of Hope by Harvey Milk; Jason Edward Black (Editor); Charles E. Morris (Editor); Frank M. Robinson (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook
Harvey Milk was one of the first openly and politically gay public officials in the United States, and his remarkable activism put him at the very heart of a pivotal civil rights movement reshaping America in the 1970s. An Archive of Hope is Milk in his own words, bringing together in one volume a substantial collection of his speeches, columns, editorials, political campaign materials, open letters, and press releases, culled from public archives, newspapers, and personal collections.
Queering Gay and Lesbian Studies by Thomas Piontek
Call Number: eBook
Queering Gay and Lesbian Studies is a broadly interdisciplinary studythat considers a key dilemma in gay and lesbian studies through theprism of identity and its discontents: the field studies has modeleditself on ethnic studies programs, perhaps to be intelligible to theuniversity community, but certainly because the ethnic studies route toprograms is well established. Since this model requires a stable andidentifiable community, gay and lesbian studies have emphasizedstable and knowable identities.
Living Out Islam by Scott Siraj al-Haqq Kugle
Call Number: eBook
Living Out Islam documents the rarely-heard voices of Muslims who live in secular democratic countries and who are gay, lesbian, and transgender. It weaves original interviews with Muslim activists into a compelling composite picture which showcases the importance of the solidarity of support groups in the effort to change social relationships and achieve justice. This nascent movement is not about being "out" as opposed to being "in the closet." Rather, as the voices of these activists demonstrate, it is about finding ways to live out Islam with dignity and integrity, reconciling their sexuality and gender with their faith and reclaiming Islam as their own.
Transgender Voices by Lori B. Girshick; Jamison Green (Contribution by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781584656456
Based on 150 in-depth interviews, this text brings together the voices of sex- and gender-diverse people who speak with absolute candor about their lives.
Travels in a Gay Nation by Philip Gambone
Call Number: eBook
For two years, Philip Gambone traveled the length and breadth of the United States, talking candidly with LGBTQ people about their lives. In addition to interviews from David Sedaris, George Takei, Barney Frank, and Tammy Baldwin, Travels in a Gay Nation brings us lesser-known voices--a retired Naval officer, a transgender scholar and "drag king," a Princeton philosopher, two opera sopranos who happen to be lovers, an indie rock musician, the founder of a gay frat house, and a pair of Vermont garden designers. In this age when contemporary gay America is still coming under attack, Gambone captures the humanity of each individual.

Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. Contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects, plus videos from the Associated Press.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Indexes North American ethnic and minority journals, newspapers and magazines from 1960 to the present; includes full text.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text and indexing for journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.

GLBT Historical Society

GLBT Historical Society: Archives
The GLBT Historical Society has several impressive collections of LGBTQ historical materials. It also has research guides and media collections on specific topics from their collection!

Subject Headings

The subject headings below are helpful when starting out with research.

Bisexuals
Coming Out (Sexual Orientation)
Gay Adoption
Gay Liberation Movement
Gay Men
Gay Parents
Gay Rights
Gays-Employment
Gays in Popular Culture
Gender Identity
Heterosexism
Hermaphroditism
Homophobia
Homosexuality
Outing (Sexual Orientation)
Queer
Same-Sex Marriage
Sexual Behavior
Sexual Orientation

Did you know?

Did you know that these famous authors were part of the LGBTQ community? Read some of their works we have at the library!

Oscar Wilde
Tennessee Williams
Walt Whitman
Virginia Woolf
Truman Capote
Gertrude Stein
Maurice Sendak
James Baldwin
David Sedaris
Alice Walker

LGBTQ Resources