Research Guides: Microbiology Resources: Open Access Journals

Open Access Microbiology Journals

New Microbes and New Infections New Microbes and New Infections is an official publication of the European Society for Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (ESCMID). It serves the field as a peer-reviewed, open access journal for rapid dissemination of the latest research, with a particular focus on new genomes, new microbes, and new technology applied to the diagnosis of infectious/tropical diseases.
Microbiology Insights Microbiology Insights is a peer-reviewed, open access journal which encompasses all aspects of the study of microbiology. Studies on all aspects of both prokaryotic and eukaryotic microorganisms and viruses are welcome. Areas such as functionality, infectious disease, food-borne pathogens, drug resistance and antimicrobials, industrial applications and more are also incorporated in this journal.
International Journal of Microbiology International Journal of Microbiology is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of microbiology.

American Society for Microbiology Journals
ASM journals are the most prominent publications in the field, delivering up-to-date and authoritative coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology. ASM provides free access to full-text articles 6 months after the final version is published in an issue of one of the 9 primary research journals. For the review journals, Clinical Microbiology Reviews and Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews, access to full-text articles is made freely available 1 year after an issue's publication. Tables of contents, abstracts, and search features are freely available to all users.
Free Medical Journals The Free Medical Journals Site provides a list with links to free full text medical journals on the Internet.
Science Direct Open Access Journals in Science Direct that either contain open access articles or are completely open access journals.
HighWire Free Online Full Text Articles HighWire has been affiliated with Stanford University since 1995. This alphabetical list is limited to journals published online with the assistance of HighWire Press. There are 29 sites with free trial periods, 107 completely free sites, and 280 sites with free back issues. Please be aware that 1373 sites have pay per view - check with the Research Librarians to see if we can find the article before you decide to pay for it.