Skip to main content

Lasallian Collection: Home

The Lasallian Collection at Lewis University contains materials about the Brothers of the Christian Schools, their history and ministry of education, from the founding of the order in the 17th century to the present day.

All you need to know about Lasallian Charism

#BEYOND 300 This Is our Lasallian Story

A documentary celebrating the 300th anniversary of Saint John Baptist de La Salle’s entry into enteral life tells his story through the lives of Lasallians worldwide. Released by the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools, this documentary shows how the Lasallian mission is alive in a variety of ministries around the world.

What's in this Guide

                                                                                                                                                                                                              

 

The Lasallian Collection at Lewis University contains information about the history of the Brothers of the Christian Schools, from its beginnings in the 17th century to the present day.

The Lasallian Collection at Lewis University is located on the main 1st floor of the library on the east wall near the large glass window. 

Various types of materials in this collection include biographies of St. John Baptist de la Salle, select biographies of brothers from the time of the Founder in 17th Century France to the current day, Institute documents, books and articles and pamphlets written by brothers, materials on Lasallian pedagogy, publications from various USA provinces, financial and statistical reports, books on Lasallian spirituality and prayer, and several videos on Lasallian themes.

Items within the Lasallian Collection are non-circulating.  However, with the assistance of library staff, certain items may be photocopied or scanned.

Items on Lasallian themes within the regular Lewis Library collection may be checked out in the usual way.

Library Resources
Search the Lewis Library catalog and SUMMON to access books, articles, pamphlets, and videos.


A Lasallian Book Sampler
Selected titles in this sampler reflect the wide range of materials available in the Lewis Lasallian Collection.


Websites
Search additional resources for information concerning the Lasallian family, worldwide institute information, as well as links to the three USA Christian Brother districts.


Br. Jeffrey Gros, FSC 
Contains publication information on and by Br. Jeffrey Gros (1938-2013), noted ecumenist and author.

 


 

Reference Librarian

Br. David Kuebler's picture
Br. David Kuebler
Contact:
Reference Desk (815) 836-5306
Subjects:Philosophy, Theology

More Ways to Contact Us

Call   Call: 815-836-5306

Email   Email: reflib@lewisu.edu

Text   Text: 815-496-6184