The reference books listings on this page are recommended for your research. They are found on the library first floor, and the links provided below gives you the call numbers.
The following are a select group of encyclopedias of history and the social sciences in the library collection. The links below provide you with the catalog entry which gives you the call number, location, and availability of the item. We encourage browsing in the stacks and using I-Share.
The following are a select group of biographical reference books in the library collection. The links below provide you with the catalog entry which gives you the call number, location, and availability of the item. We encourage browsing in the stacks and using I-Share.
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature by
This entirely new edition of a keystone reference is the place to start researching any topic in any field of history. Hundreds of historians from around the world have selected and provided commentary on the best and most useful works in their fields--almost 27,000 annotated citations--toprovide unprecedented bibliographic guidance of extraordinary breadth, from prehistory to the twentieth century. Presented in an accessible format, this completely new work has been ten years in planning and execution. It is divided into sections arranged by chronology and national and regional history, with each section introduced by a brief historiographical essay. And it also contains expanded coverage ofAfrica, Asia, and North and South America. Each bibliographic citation is identified by a unique reference number and includes all essential data, along with a brief critical annotation written by a specialist in the field. Also included are guides to the contributors of annotations and complete author and subject indexes. An indispensable work for scholars, students, librarians, and general readers, the AHA Guide to Historical Literature is essential for anyone who is serious about history.
Full-text online versions of over 900 published reference works in a variety of major subjects. These include general and subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, images, and videos.