Research Guides: Historiography: Journals

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
Great index to the journals and magazines from 1900 to 1989, located in the reference collection.

Journals, Lewis Stacks

The tangible collection of bound popular magazines and scholarly journals is on the shelves in alphabetical order on the second floor of the library.

Primary source journals for historians

Atlantic Monthly, 1858-1989 (see link below for online archives)

Catholic World, 1965-1971 and 1993-95 (see link below for online archives)

Commonweal (Catholic), 1924-1977

Scholarly history journals with a current events angle

Current History, 1946-2005

History Today, 1961-1999

Literary journals

Harpers, 1850-1997

Saturday Review, 1945-2004

Odds and ends

Consumer Reports buying guide 1999-present

National Geographic, 1919-2003

The Atlantic Monthly Archives Browse back issues of The Atlantic from 1857 to present that have appeared on the Web. From September 1995 to the present, the archive is essentially complete, with the exception of a few articles, the online rights to which are held exclusively by the authors.
The Catholic World online The Catholic World began publication with the April 1865 issue. No issue copyright renewals were found for this serial. The first copyright-renewed contribution is from February 1923, © January 25, 1923. (More details) In 1972, the magazine was renamed New Catholic World, though it went back to the old name in 1989. The last issue was published in 1996.
Cornell University Making of America Primary Material Collection
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is comprised of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Online journals and magazines

Find journals online through the following links.

Century Magazine
Find this primary source for historians.
Commentary, 1945-1986
Magazine of Jewish opinion.
Forbes
Find this primary source for historians.
Foreign Affairs
Premier publication on foreign affairs.
International Labor Review
Premier publication on labor issues worldwide.
Life
Popular United States photo-journalism magazine.
National Review
Magazine of conservative opionion.
The New Republic
Magazine of liberal opinion.
The New Yorker
Premier literary journal in the United States.
Scribner's Magazine 1887-1939
Scribner's Magazine changed to Scribner's Commentator in 1939 and ran under that name until 1942.
Scribner's Monthly, 1870-1881
Find this primary source for historians. Name changed to The Century Magazine Scribner's Monthly in 1881.