Also referred to as Open Access Resources. This guide is intended as an central access point for liaisons to verify and update open access resources and to provide ready resources to map to subject or class guides.
The majority of the library's databases are only available to Lewis University students, faculty, staff and in-library users. However, these titles may be freely accessed by the general public.
AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. The OPAC describes the books, serials, audiovisuals, and other resources held by NAL and its Cooperators.
BioMed Central provides a collection of free, open access, mostly peer-reviewed research articles from over 100 biomedical, medicine, health, biology, and biotechnology-related online journals. (Note: For a few journals, only the research content is free.)
ClinicalTrials.gov provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to regularly updated information on thousands of federally and privately supported clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions. The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), through its National Library of Medicine (NLM), has developed this site in collaboration with all NIH Institutes and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies provides access to 1,400 bibliographies of literature in computer science. The collection contains more than 1.4 million references to journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports; many records include abstracts and links to full-text documents; updated monthly.
The Directory of Open Access Journals aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short a one-stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
ERIC is the source of information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, standards, and guidelines.
UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization)publishes a free, web-accessible database of literature in translation. The database can be searched by original language, target language, translator, keyword, and other options.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 14 million citations in MEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals
MedlinePlus originated in 1998; National Library of Medicine's selective list of authoritative health information sources from the National Institutes of Health and other government and professional organizations in the U.S. Updated nightly, it has over 4,000 articles on various diseases, symptoms, drugs, and procedures, as well as interactive health tutorials, research news, local resources, directories of hospitals and physicians, clinical trials and links to Medline for journal citations.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service has citations and abstracts to federal, state, and local government documents, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research in the field of criminal justice. Some publications are available in full text.
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics presents data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 1000 tables.
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
A digital document repository including e-books, papers, reports, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other documents by UWM authors. The UWM Digital Commons is a repository for UWM faculty, staff, and student publications.
A literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus.
LitCovid is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 389,970 (and growing ) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics (e.g. transmission) and geographic locations.
MetaLibMetaLib's federated searching to retrieve reports, articles, and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple databases (including reference databases, digital repositories or subject-based Web gateways). This tool, a service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP), provides:
Simultaneous searching across multiple databases.
Search individual databases using the A-Z Resource List.
Create your own sets of searchable database collections using the A-Z Resource List.
Access and search the "native" interface of these databases from the originating institution/agency.
Save configurations and resources to your "E-shelf", a personalized collection manager. The E-shelf is saved based on your browser session and is not permanent.
Email and/or save records in various formats (e.g., MARC21, Standard, ProCite) and encoding (e.g., UTF-8, ISO 8859-1, ASCII).
This link opens in a new window